top of page

Cinema Review: The Conjuring - The Devil Made Me Do It

Yes, I'm finally able to get ot the cinema again! The cinemas have opened here in the UK at long last and it couldn't have come at a better time as I've finally got to some sembalance of humanity after being ill for months and then my cat PUSHING ME DOWN THE STAIRS (Yes, this is genuinely what happened!!) and almost breaking my wrist. Cineworld did a preview of the latest installmet of The Conjuring universe, so let's see what it's all about!

Based on true events, the lastest installmet of The Conjuring franchise tells a chilling story of terror, murder and unknown evil that shocked even experienced real-life paranormal investigators Ed and Lorraine Warren. One of the most sensational cases from their files and it all starts with a fight for the soul of a young child but events unfold that takes them far beyond anything they had ever seen before, and marks the first time in United States history that a murder suspect would ever attempt to claim demonic possession as a defense against murder in what was to be known as the infamous "The Devil Made Me Do It" case.




This is how I felt as I was about to enter the cinema...

I'm not the hugest fan of this franchise (I just never found them that interesting) but I actually thought that movie wasn't too bad, and was better than I initially anticipated, and it did have a bit of a different feel compared to the previous 2 Conjuring movies, but this could be down to the fact that the James Wan wasn't at the helm for this movie unlike the previous 2, and potentially because the last time I went to the cinema was to see Bill & Ted Face The Music...


Doing a little research of the story behind the story was quite interesting, especially when you consider that this was based on a groundbreaking muder case (as well as it being a movie about paranormal activity) and it's great that they've kinda keeping with things that are apparently based on fact. I have found out that the UK release of this movie has been cut to get a 15 rating, so I'm going to try and get a copy of the US version and see what the differences are.

Yup, think he's in shock...

If you are a fan of The Conjuring franchise, I'm sure that you'll enjoy this, wether you see it at the cinema or at home via a premium screening service of your choice, and if you've not exactly been a fan of the series (like myself) then this one is still worth a watch.




The Conjuring: The Devil Made Me Do It is rated 15 and available at cinemas in IMAX and 4DX (as well as availble from premier screening services at home in some territories) now.




2 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page