top of page

HalloSCREAM! 2020 Part #4: What The Hell Did I Just Watch? - GYO: Tokyo Fish Attack!

OK, time for a slice of animated oddness...and no better place to get that than from Japan.

I really didn't want to do a Sharknado review for HalloSCREAM! this year, although there are several left I have not watched...and just as I was going to add this to my list of movies this arrived. Behold GYO: Tokyo Fish Attack, part of the TerrorCotta brand from Terracotta Distribution. Let's check the DVD out!

A devastating, disgusting 'Death Stench' is spreading across Japan, creating deadly mutant fish as it covers the land! The country is being invaded by ferocious fish with sharp metal legs, hell-bent on death and destruction.

Three girlfriends (Kaori, Erika, and Aki) are on a vacation to celebrate their upcoming graduation when all their plans are interrupted by the appearance of walking fish with metal legs which then leads to all manner of marine life coming ashore thanks to a Japanese chemical weapon experiment. Amidst the carnage, Kaori embarks on a desperate quest to find her missing boyfriend before he is lost in the mayhem. Facing four-legged killer sharks, machine-driven squid, and the myriad dangers of Tokyo, now an urban war zone, Kaori must find the truth behind these mechanical monsters and face an evil greater than she ever could have imagined.

Based on the popular manga from the master of the macabre, Junji Ito (Tomie, Uzumaki), Gyo: Tokyo Fish Attack! is a bizarre thrill-ride that has to be seen to be believed.


OK, seriously now...what the very hell have I just watched? No, I mean, seriously? I have watched some odd animation in the past. I've watched various animation that's not great. Hell, I've even watched FoodFight! as part of the Quest. Despite this, I still really have no idea what I have watched. Somehow, chemical warfare allowed fish to grow metal legs. METAL. LEGS.

How in the name of Dave and his Krispy Kreme underpants does that happen? The only thing that makes sense to me would be to have the sharks in a cybernetics program...last time I checked that WOULDN'T be chemical warfare experimentation.

I guess I need to check out the Manga to understand this, but I'm totally confused. GYO: Tokyo Fish Attack! is rated 15 and can be ordered from Terracotta Distribution HERE.




15 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page