top of page

Interview: Stu Silverman

Anyone who knows me or reads the blog regularly knows I like horror. Not just the big bucks horrors but the small indie ones too. One indie horror movie I have been keeping tabs on is The Devil Makes Three, an anthology of different styles of horror stories of madness and torment.The movie was funded on Kickstarter and they have got 2 of the 3 stories filmed so far.

I was able to talk to director and co-writer Stu Silverman and ask him about TDM3 and his movie career.

What got you interested in filmmaking? As far back as I can remember, I’ve always been obsessed with movies and knew that being a filmmaker was my calling… one way or another. As a kid, I would make horror films with my friends and family as my cast. I’d do the make-up effects and edit VCR to VCR. It was pretty lo-fi, but it whet my appetite!

When making movies, what are your influences? I have fairly broad tastes in film but the filmmakers whose works have been the most lasting/impactful for me have been Lynch, Cronenberg, Kubrick, Gilliam, Tim Burton, and Jim Henson.

You are currently making the movie TDM3, what gave you the idea for this trilogy of stories? How did you pick the people who wrote the stories? My writing partner (Kate Douglas) and I had been developing a horror short when we had an idea for another story that we got excited about. Once he had the two of those, our thinking on the project began to evolve as we realized how much fun it would be to refashion these into an anthology feature. The rest is history…

The Devil Makes Three Banner

The Devil Makes Three…an indie film being made by Stu Silverman.


What has been the highlight of your career to date? My career highlight is definitely making THE DEVIL MAKES THREE! Prior to that, I had made a living as an editor for film and commercial work. I’ve been involved in some great projects which I’m proud of, but it hasn’t been until now that I’ve had the opportunity to make the kind of film I would want to see. I can’t wait to share it with everyone!

TDM3 BTS 001

Behind the scenes of The Devil Makes Three.


How would you describe TDM3? THE DEVIL MAKES THREE is a female-driven horror anthology film that tells three stories of torment, madness, and terror, each with its own distinct aesthetic and sub-genre.

Bug Kickstarter Image

Bug, the first story to be filmed.


Kindness Of Strangers Kickstarter Image

Kindness of Strangers has just finished filming.


Midnight Host Kickstarter Image

Midnight Host is the third story in the trilogy.


Horror fans have eclectic tastes and THE DEVIL MAKES THREE offers something for everybody: A tense psychological thriller in the vein of Repulsion and Rear Window. A white-knuckle rollercoaster ride that evokes slasher classics like The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and High Tension. And finally, an occult mystery that combines the ‘flower child’ paganism of The Wicker Man with the psychological horror of Rosemary’s Baby. Tonally, they’re markedly different — but that’s the idea; Different shades of horror under one umbrella.

How is the filming going? Have there been any big challenges so far? The filming has been going well! We’ve got two of the three stories in the can and we’re currently prepping for production on the third. Challenges? Well, we’re an independent film so we don’t have the support system or resources of a studio film which means that everything takes a little longer. Nevertheless, we are 100% committed to creating an intense terror ride for horror fans and are excited as hell to working on it!

TDM3 BTS 002

The Devil Makes Three Behind The Scenes


As much as you’re still working on TDM3 (which I’m really looking forward to), are there any future projects on the horizon? I’m sitting on a bunch of other stories that I’d love to incorporate into another anthology film (a sequel?), as well as a few feature scripts we have written. For now, all of our efforts are concentrated on TDM3.

Stu Silverman, thankyou for your time and I look forward to the movie!

Director Stu Silverman

Director Stu Silverman…princess of horror?


The Devil Makes Three is currently in filming and will hopefully be finished sometime next year.

TDM3 Teaser Poster

The Devil Makes Three……coming sometime next year hopefully! Let darkness in!


6 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page