top of page

Blu-Ray Preview: Upgrade Special Edition

Now, I know I have reviewed this movie previously (I got to see this on digital download from the US before it was released in the UK cinema) and I wasn't overly impressed at the time....but somehow this original review has vanished into the ether! I do feel, however, that I didn't give the movie fair treatment so now I've got the chance to check out the special edition of the Blu-Ray released by Second Sight Films and the movie has a second chance.

In a Utopian near-future time where technology is supremely ubiquitous, technophobe Grey Trace embraces an experimental computer chip implant named STEM after a mugging incident leaves his world in tatters and him a quadriplegic. STEM provides Grey with the ability to walk again, and the ability to get his vengeance.

I've now watched this for the third time (A friend got me a copy when it was released in the US, and then I saw it at the cinema here in the UK and now I'm previewing the Special Edition Blu-ray) and I have to admit that I think I've been overly harsh.



I see in this movie aspects of The Six Million Dollar Man, The Terminator, Next Gen, The Matrix, and even glimpses of Bladerunner and I, Robot among other futuristic sci-fi classics, but in a good way. It shows a world that has become dependent on technology and how we look at it to be a savior, not thinking about the potential costs of doing such a thing.


I enjoyed the movie this time around and the quality of the viewing experience with this is superb. The Blu-ray also has new interviews with Director, Producer, Fight Choreographer and Editor which give an interesting insight into the film.


With this Blu-ray you also get a poster with new artwork by Adam Stothard and a 40-page softcover book with new essays by Jon Towlson and Scott Harrison, all in a rigid Slipcase with the new artwork you see above.


Leigh Whannell has created a classic cyberpunk movie that is gritty and entertaining to watch. Second Sight Film have made a special edition well worth getting hold of and speaking as a collector of special editions (I like the versions with books and more new information about the film) I think it's a nice looking piece for the collection.


Upgrade Special Edition Blu-ray is available on November and you can preorder the Blu-ray directly from Second Sight Films by clicking here.


95 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page