top of page

Quest for the WORST Movie Part 23: Pet Sematary (2019)

Well, this is a turn up for the books. I go to the cinema on a date with Awesome Cupcake and it turns out the movie is questworthy and Cupcake was rather bored!

It was a year ago to the day that I watched Pet Sematary for the Quest so it was only fitting that I went saw the remake today.

Based on the “terrifying” novel by Stephen King, the story is about a family who buy a house in the countryside with lots of land and find a cemetery for pets that kids have used for generations. But it is so much more, as Jud (thier neighbour) shows them.

I watched the original last night for the sake of comparison with Hatboy and he’d thought it was OK (I have to say that it has improved in my eyes after some of the bad movies I’ve watched).

The new movie isn’t too bad but based on the book? I have to question that statement. There were A LOT of things changed in this movie and the twist made me wonder what the hell they thinking.

If you’re a Stephen King fan and like looking for all the links and connections to other places in the Stephen Kingdom you should have fun finding a fair few too.

Was it a good movie? Well, it certainly wasn’t as good as I’d expected that’s for sure. For me I felt John Lithgow was the wrong person to play Jud (after seeing Fred Gwynne play him) for example. I also felt the movie was incredibly slow and also jumpy, but stranger still was that this movie was too long, but the runtime was too short.

Pity, this could have been so much better. Don’t get me wrong, it certainly could have been worse but it most certainly could be better. And…this is the second movie that was part of the quest as soon as I left the cinema (the first being The First Purge).

The remake of Pet Sematary is rated 15 and in cinemas now.

2 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page