top of page

Quest For The WORST Movie Part 25: Ice Cream Man

Seriously, I’ve got to the quarter century? Wow, never thought I’d be getting through that many movies….

Recently I’d been chatting with Awesome Cupcake and the Teacups about movies and I’d been saying that when it comes to horror it would appear that there is no topic that is off limits and NOTHING is truly safe….however I’d never seen one based one a ice cream man. I mentioned that I remembered that Steve Wright in the Afternoon (a radio show in the UK on BBC Radio 1 FM folks, circa 1980-90s) did do an audio skit about a CD of the greatest hits of ice cream vans and included the main theme from the upcoming horror movie The Ice Cream Man. Thinking back on this always made me laugh (I’ve always been a fan of Steve Wright and the Posse, they were great after school entertainment.

However, I’ve now discovered that there is one…and it answers the question if you can ever have too much ice cream. Oh boy.

I scream…you scream…we all scream for the Ice Cream Man!

As a child, Gregory witnessed his ice cream man get gunned down in his ice cream van, making him go crazy. Years later, he gets released and becomes an ice cream man and he uses VERY SPECIAL INGREDIENTS for flavouring…and coincidentally children are vanishing too…

The movie isn’t the worst I’ve seen but boy it is by no means one of the best. The script isn’t great, the acting is epically cheesy (in a bad way) and the SFX were basically pathetic. It didn’t help with having so many shots having people’s feet in them showing off footwear which comes to my next point…

This movie was sponsored in part by Converse and you can kinda tell…there are a huge amount of shots of the footwear…and many characters wear the brand shoes, especially Chuck Taylor All-Stars (my personal favourite shoes….hey Converse, hook me up with some kicks sometime! I’ll do a post sponsored by you!)

The thing that surprised me was that the late Jan-Michael Vincent (of Airwolf fame) was in this. Him and Clint Howard were the only members of the cast that I recognised in the film.

Amazingly, there was a Kickstarter created to make a sequel in 2014 with Clint Howard to reprise his lead role. The Kickstarter wanted $300,000 but attracted 5 backers, the project was cancelled at Kickstarter with next to no funding and the movie is apparently permanently on ice. I believe one one of the biggest issues was they wanted the money in a month and in all honesty that was nowhere near enough time to get the funds. As much as this was an awful movie a sequel would have been interesting, especially with Clint Howard reprising his role as Ice Cream Man.

But, it does answer the question….can you have too much ice cream? No, of course not! I’m going to grab a tub of Ben & Jerry’s Chunky Munky and get ready for the next blog post…

The Ice Cream Man is rated 15 and is available on Blu-Ray and DVD.

1 view0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page