top of page

The Guardians

Ever since I saw the teaser for Russian superhero movie The Guardians (aka Zashchitniki) I have to say I’ve really been looking forward to seeing it.  Dubbed as “Russia’s answer to The Avengers”, the trailer looks pretty awesome….have a look and see:


I mean, that’s pretty awesome, right?  It almost makes me think this is the movie Avengers wanted to be!!

During the times of the Cold War, a group called Patriot created a group of super-humans.  Now that the Cold War is over, these super-humans had to keep their identities a secret, until now when they were needed once more.

So…after watching the movie, was it just as awesome as the trailer tried to make it out to be?

I personally have to say that it didn’t seem to be that bad a movie with great action and some good effects. The movie doesn’t attempt to bog the viewer down with huge amounts of origin stories(there are brief glimpses at the start of the movie though) and basically has a group of super-humans goes against their creator who has also mutated after an accident.

Sure, I saw characters that reminded me of the likes of Magneto, Electro, Winter Soldier and more but that didn’t really detract from the movie. I mean most Superhero movies have this cheesy formula and it works. 

The only downside to the version I watched was it was subtitled…I usually like subtitled movies but this was not good although it was understandable.

So, was it worthy of the nickname “Russian Avengers”?  I’d say yes, it was a fun movie with some great heroes.  Sure, it did seem a little predictable, but to be honest most movies with super heroes in are.  For a movie that cost roughly $6,400,000 to make it’s really not that bad.  It’s a real pity it was such a flop but it does look like there is a sequel in the works.



The Guardians is rated 12 and is available on DVD and Blu-Ray on 21st August 2017

3 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page