top of page

Movie Review: Unikorn

Updated: Feb 13, 2020

This is something TOTALLY different. I love finding things that are totally different. This is a short....no, I mean it's SHORT as in about a minute long. This is a micro movie and I thought it was rather interesting...let's check out Unikorn.

There is really not much to say about this movie, a woman speaks to her toy unicorn (reminded me of something from the Xbox game Viva Piñata) and how she seemed to be potentially controlled by it to kill someone in this subtitled conversation (this is a non-English piece). A mere 59 seconds and this is what you get.

Crazy, creepy, funny, odd....all words that describe this micro movie. I'm impressed by how much emotion it was able to convey in such a short space of time. I absolutely loved it!

I was about to get hold of co-creator Ivan Humanes and ask him a few questions:

01)Ivan Humanes thankyou for taking the time to chat about this micro movie. So, Unikorn, what's it all about then?

Well, we could tell you that it is an experimental short that wants to deepen the mind etc etc ... but it would be a lie, yeah. We only had a toy unicorn and an old camera. And nothing more. Oh yeah. And many laughs. And two coffees…

What was the budget for Unikorn (I'm guessing that it was almost nothing if not nothing)?

It was zero dollars.

Whoa! Am I right the language spoken is German? I'm a bit rusty on my languages

It is in Spanish.

I really must brush up on my languages! How long did it take to shoot and edit?

The truth is that we were recorded at noon after leaving work. At least one week to film it and another week for us to edit it. It cost us but we are happy with our statement that is creepy love. Queralt Puig and I, Ivan Humanes, did all the work and nobody else participated as there was no budget.

It's quite impressive and quite a blast despite being under 60 seconds long. Are there any plans for potentially making an alternate cut? Or perhaps a sequel?

The goal is to make a longer short, with at least $100. Or more.

I'll look forward to that potentially happening then. So what are the names of the cast?

The actress is Queralt Puig and the Unicorn is called Ralf.

Ivan Humanes, thankyou very much for your time.

Ohhhh We love you hahaha. Thank you very much for taking the trouble to watch this.

Well, there you have it. I think this could be the shortest movie I review on my blog, and that's brilliant. I really enjoyed it, and I'm not sure if there will be anywhere you will be able to see this, but if you are able to I highly recommend it. I think it could be quite interesting if Unikorn gets extended too. I'll be keeping an eye on this one with great interest...

Unikorn is unrated and touring the film festivals now.

199 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page