top of page

My 5,000th Movie! Freaks

Yup, I have been fascinated with movies since I was 6 and I know compared to some people it is not many movies but this review marks the 5,000th movie I have watched. I would like to thank Awesome Cupcake for selecting this movie (trawling through Netflix UK to find this) and accepting my addiction to movies.

Right, time to get this movie watched and see how long it is before I am adding another 1,000 movies!


There are many movies out there where there are parents who are a little...odd and control their children, having them think about the world is a horrific evil place they need to be away from at all costs...well, this is one of those types of movies...although it is something a little bit different at the same time. Ladies and gentlemen, this is Freaks.

This number had recorded messages to promote the movie.

Freaks is a story about a bold, mysterious seven-year-old girl called Chloe who is kept cooped up in the house by her eccentric, protective, and highly paranoid father. He is doing what he thinks is the right thing to save her from the bad men who he says wants them both dead, and so he stays awake as much as he can to watch over and protect her.

When her father sleeps, she leaves the house and with the help of a kindly Ice Crem Man called Mr. Snowcone discovers just how threatening, bizarre, and mysterious a place it is. She is soon to discover that her father's safety is nothing but a mere illusion and that the dangers out there he warned her about are very, very real.







I have to admit, I was expecting this movie to be a piece of junk looking at the synopsis on Netflix (Hey, let's be honest now, Netflix is a good place to find rubbish movies!!) but after watching this I have to say I really liked this film and was not what I expected at all. It seemed quite dark and almost disturbing, to begin with, but then as the film goes on it is more of a rollercoaster ride of a child growing up, of innocence and learning what it's like to be different...but also a story of love, care, and tragedy too. The cast in this was absolutely brilliant, especially Lexy Kolker, who plays Chloe perfectly with so much energy and emotion, it is an outstanding performance.

TIFF Poster...pretty cool, eh?

The movie does end in a way that it could well have a sequel, and I think seeing how life goes on for Chole would be interesting, but I'm not sure if a film could do it justice, so maybe leave it at one, but it seems to have appeased a lot of people when it was released, so you never know if there will be a sequel these days...

The only thing that confuses me about this movie is a lot of places have categorized this as horror and I do not understand why this is the case. There are a few places that could make people just, sure but it is more of a sci-fi thriller with a little touch of action in there too.


If you like sci-fi movies that are a little odd, that have twists and turns you don't expect, give this one a go, you'll love it!


Freaks is rated 15 and can be found on Netflix HERE

8 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page