top of page

Movie Review: In the Tall Grass

2019 was quite the year for Stephen King movies...at the cinema, there was Pet Sematary, IT Chapter Two and Doctor Sleep...and on Netflix there was In The Tall Grass.


When sister and brother Becky and Cal DeMuth are traveling to San Diego they hear the cries of a young boy lost within a field of tall grass in Kansas. Deciding they have to venture in to go and rescue him, they become ensnared themselves by a sinister supernatural force that manipulates time and space that is within the field. The siblings very quickly get disorientated and separated. Cut off from the world and unable to escape the tightening grip of the field, they soon discover that there might be no escape from the tall grass and the only thing that could be potentially worse than getting lost is being found.


I have to admit, I'm a really big fan of the majority of Stephen King's stories, although the movie and TV adaptations have been rather hit and miss over the years (I may have to challenge myself and watch all of the movies that are based on Stephen King's writings at some point...although I'm pretty certain Awesome Cupcake will avoid several of those) so I wasn't sure what I was to expect, and with Awesome Cupcake wanting to ease herself back into horror movies (She's not watched horror for a long time and wants me to help her watch horror again), I wondered if this was going to be a good idea....but she suggested this one (Awesome Cupcake is a fan of Stephen King and listens to a lot of his books on Audible, as do I) so I thought it should be worth a go....and I have to say that it wasn't too bad.


I enjoyed the story, I liked the characters, and it was an interesting watch. It didn't exactly keep me glued to the screen, however, as it was rather dark A LOT which was a real issue and I guess the only way around that would be watching this in a VR unit or in a dark room. That aside, I thought it was pretty good though. Awesome Cupcake really enjoyed it too and she thinks it was a 3.5/5 from her (high praise indeed). One thing I will warn you of though....if you do not like lots of screaming or lots of grass...DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE.


An interesting tidbit, James Marsden was supposed to play Ross but left the project to star in Sonic the hedgehog. Let's hope that doesn't flop, eh?


In The Tall Grass is rated 15 (TV-MA) and is on Netflix.

9 views0 comments

Subscribe to the "Empty Bucket" newsletter!

bottom of page